Victory for Tenerife in the season opener (2-0)

No points for Málaga CF from the Heliodoro Rodríguez López. Goals from Suso (41’) and Jacobo (55’) ensured the three points remained on the Canary Islands.


13/09/2020 23:37

The Blue and Whites were away to CD Tenerife on the inaugural match of LaLiga SmartBank, played behind closed doors at the Heliodoro Rodríguez López. Pellicer’s starting-11 featured many new faces; new signings Dani Barrio, Escassi, Iván Calero, Yanis, Cristian and Caye wore the Malaguista jersey for the first time, along with homegrown player Álex Benítez. An unprecedented starting line-up with Ismael wearing the captain’s armband.

Málaga went all out from the outset. Pellicer’s men launched their attack from the start, approaching the rival goal on numerous occasions. With agile, vertical football, the Blue and Whites – dressed in green and purple this evening – surprised the rival with a very high pace of play.

Caye Quintana had the first great opportunity of the game. The forward finished a low shot to the far post, but the rival keeper deflected the attempt at close range in minute 4 of play.

The locals also attempted to open the scoring with various options, but the rival defence remained solid. Nevertheless, just before the half-time whistle, Suso managed to outwit Dani Barrio to score the 1-0 in 41’.

The second half kicked off in much the same way as the first. CD Tenerife put paid to MCF’s attempts. The Blue and Whites sought to surprise the home side and take the match level, but the locals managed to increase their lead in 55’, 10 minutes into the second half with a goal from Jacobo (2-0).

Far from giving up, the Malaguistas frequented the rival area. Tete and Juande came close to glory but it wasn’t to be. The final result was 2-0 and the first three points of the season remain in Tenerife.

Talking about... Crónica

MCF / J1 LaLiga SmartBank

2-0 Go Live
  • Adrián Ortolá
  • Shaq Moore
  • Nikola Sipcic
  • Álex Muñoz
  • Bruno Wilson
  • Aitor Sanz
  • Javier Alonso (65')
  • Pomares (82')
  • Suso N.T. (49')
  • Álex Bermejo (82')
  • Manu Apeh (65')


  • Joselu (66')
  • Elliot Gómez
  • Jacobo González (50')
  • Alejandro Cruz
  • Dani H.
  • Omar Jaiteh
  • Gio Zarfino (66')
  • Samuel Shashoua
  • Jorge Padilla (82')
  • Borja Bethencourt
  • Alberto (83')
  • Dani Barrio
  • Ismael Casas
  • Escassi
  • Juan de Dios Rivas
  • Alejandro Benitez (56')
  • Cristian Rodríguez (83')
  • Iván Calero
  • Tete
  • Mohamed Benkhemassa
  • Yanis (70')
  • Caye Quintana


  • Luis H.
  • Orlando Sá (57')
  • Julio Martínez
  • Eu Gutierrez
  • Ramón Enríquez
  • Boulhourd
  • David Larrubia (84')
  • Gonzalo Cretazz
  • Rolón
  • Issa Fomba (71')
  • Alberto Quintana
  • Mini


Estadio Heliodoro Rodríguez López


  • 1-0 (42'). Suso N.T.
  • 2-0 (56'). Jacobo González


Eduardo Prieto Iglesias awarded Javier Alonso (63'), Pomares (77') from CD Tenerife y Tete (44'), Escassi (53'), Yanis (61') from Málaga CF.