No points for Málaga CF against SD Ponferradina (0-2)

The Blue and Whites lost the first match of the second round of the league competition. The visitors took the three points from La Rosaleda with goals from Sielva and Gaspar Panadero.


23/01/2021 22:23

Málaga CF kicked off the second round of LaLiga SmartBank at La Rosaleda Stadium, the same place where the first round of the competition came to a close a fortnight ago. With the team’s time in the Copa del Rey over for the season, the rival on matchday 22 was SD Ponferradina.  

Sergio Pellicer, who debuted in the Malaguista dugout a little over a year ago against ‘Ponfe’, the same day Juande also made his debut, selected a starting line-up with a 1-4-3-3 formation. Alexander González was in his first starting-11, as left-back. One of the three visiting former Malaguistas also played in that position, Iván Rodríguez. The other two were Erik Morán and Óscar Sielva.

In the initial stages, the Blue and Whites sought to surprise the rival on the counter-attack. In minute 12, following little fluidity in the match up to this point, the visitors took the lead from an action in which an Erik Morán cross from the left was converted by Sielva in front of the area (0-1). Málaga CF’s first shot at goal came in minute 27, the work of Cristian after a combination with Chavarría. The approach spurred on the home side, who moved the ball at a different speed in the attacking half. Yanis Rahmani generated two opportunities to take the match level, the first in 33’ with a slightly deflected shot following a pass from Joaquín from the right; then immediately afterwards another attempt was saved by Caro. For the remainder of the first half, Jon Pérez Bolo’s men only approached Dani Barrio with a free kick from Curro. On behalf of the Malaguistas, Cristian again tried his luck, but came up against Caro, and a cross from the left sailed past the goal before the half-time whistle.

Pellicer made a double substitution at the start of the second half, bringing on Caye and Cristo, going on to play with two attacking benchmarks plus two wingers. The Malaguistas began to approach the vicinity of the goal in search of an equaliser. Another double substitution took place in 67’, with Jairo and Jozabed joining the game. Then there was a tactical adaptation, moving to play with three centrals, two fullbacks, two pivots and three strikers. The Malaguistas increased their approach to the ‘Ponfe’ goal, then in minute 80, it was again Yanis who had the best chance to score with a close-range shot that was deflected by Caro. In 83’ Yuri could have put the visitors further in the lead, but his shot hit the post. The final blow for Málaga CF arrived with the visitors’ second goal, the work of Gaspar Panadero in 88’ (0-2). In addition, Yuri went on to generate another two chances for ‘Deportiva’ in stoppage time.

The Malaguistas leave this match empty-handed, despite trying everything possible but not reaping the reward of a goal. The Blue and Whites’ next league match is on Saturday 30th January at 18:15, away to AD Alcorcón.

Talking about... Crónica

MCF / J22 LaLiga SmartBank

0-2 Go Live
  • Dani Barrio
  • J. Mejías (67')
  • González (45')
  • Juan de Dios Rivas
  • David Lombán
  • Ramón Enríquez (45')
  • Luis Muñoz
  • Yanis (85')
  • Joaquín Muñoz (67')
  • Pablo Chavarria
  • Cristian Rodríguez


  • Ismael Casas
  • Juan Soriano
  • Loren Zúñiga
  • Juan Cruz
  • Alberto Quintana
  • Andrés Caro
  • Haitam Abaida
  • Jairo (68')
  • Caye Quintana (45')
  • Cristo Romero (45')
  • Jozabed (68')
  • Orlando Sá (86')
  • J. A. Caro
  • Alex Pascanu
  • Iván Rodríguez
  • Amo
  • Paris Adot
  • P. Valcarce
  • Erik Morán (89')
  • Oscar Sielva
  • Curro (76')
  • Álex Aizpuru (76')
  • D. Romera (65')


  • Gianfranco Gazzaniga
  • Juergen Elitim (66')
  • Manu García
  • Saúl Crespo
  • Moussa Sidibé
  • Yuri (77')
  • A. Castellano (89')
  • Yacouba Magagi
  • Gaspar Panadero (77')


La Rosaleda


  • 0-1 (16'). Oscar Sielva
  • 0-2 (88'). Gaspar Panadero


Javier Iglesias Villanueva awarded David Lombán (39'), J. Mejías (47'), Luis Muñoz (50'), Cristo Romero (73'), Jozabed (82') from Málaga CF y Amo (19') from SD Ponferradina.