Skip to main content

Match preview: #MálagaAlcorcón

Back home for Málaga CF tomorrow at La Rosaleda against AD Alcorcón on matchday 41 of LaLiga SmartBank.

The Malaguistas, with 49 points and in 15th place in the table, face the outfit from Madrid with 54 points in 11th place. The match is taking place at La Rosaleda Stadium on Friday at the unified time of 21:00 (Movistar LaLiga).

Friday’s clash will be officiated by Santiago Varón Aceitón from the Balearics, who has refereed Málaga CF in four official matches, all in the Second Division. Up to now, the Malaguista results are one victory and three draws. Juan Luis Pulido Santana from the Canary Islands will be at the helm of the VAR.


Players in common Málaga CF-AD Alcorcón

David Criado, Rojas, Usero, Gascón, Ernesto, Alcalá, Gerardo Carrera, Iván González, Toribio, Bobley Anderson, Dani Pacheco, Iván Alejo, Jack Harper and Álex Mula

(*) Samu Casado, current AD Alcorcón goalkeeper, played for Atlético Malagueño up until last season

(**) Iván Hernández and Borja Truchado, Málaga CF ‘B’ players, also played for AD Alcorcón

Coaches in common Málaga CF-AD Alcorcón

Juan Ramón López Muñiz

(*) There have been no players or coaches from CD Málaga who played or coached AD Alcorcón


To take into account

  • Tete Morente, Mikel, Keidi Bare and injured Pacheco, with four yellow cards, are the Malaguistas on the verge of suspension.
  • Sadiku, with 13 goals, is the top Malaguista scorer. Stoichkov, with 16 goals, is Alcorcón’s highest scorer.
  • At home, Málaga CF have obtained seven wins, nine draws and four defeats (30 points), scoring 23 goals and conceding 18. Following the return of the competition, there has been a defeat at home against Huesca, two victories and two draws at Martiricos, with a clean sheet in the last three games.
  • Away from home, AD Alcorcón have accumulated seven victories, 12 draws and one defeat (33 points), with 28 goals scored and 19 conceded. The Madrid-based side remains undefeated away from home this season for 19 matches on the bounce, the best stats on record in the Second Division.


Stats and facts

  • The second time Málaga CF will play AD Alcorcón at La Rosaleda. The only precedent was held last season which ended in victory for the Malaguistas by 1-0 with a goal from Blanco Leschuk.
  • In the past four seasons in the silver division, on matchday 41, MCF obtained two victories (1-2 against CD Toledo and 1-2 against Albacete Balompié) and two draws (1-1 against Cádiz CF and 0-0 against Granada 74 CF).


Munir’s clean sheet

Up until the last match, Málaga CF has maintained a clean sheet for 479 minutes of play. This run kicked off in minute 64 of matchday 34 (against Extremadura UD) and continued for five consecutive games, coming to an end after three minutes in the match against Sporting de Gijón on matchday 40.

Málaga CF’s record of a clean sheet in the Second Division is 518 minutes, held last season (beginning in minute 6’ of matchday 1 against CD Lugo, and ended in 74’ of matchday 6 against UD Las Palmas).

Munir, with 29 goals conceded in 37 matches, is on track to achieving the Zamora Trophy, to have conceded the fewest goals in the division, an accolade never before won by Málaga CF. That said, CD Málaga obtained an honorary title in 1986/87, when José Antonio Gallardo was leading the rankings at the time of his death. CD Málaga won the Zamora Trophy in the First Division with Juan Antonio Deusto in the 1971/72 season (23 goals conceded in 30 matches).

Málaga CF’s best unbeaten streaks by category:

  • First Division: 480 minutes (From minute 26 of matchday 2 -Sevilla FC- to minute 56 of matchday 7 -Getafe CF-). Goalkeeper: Willy Caballero.
  • Second Division: 518 minutes (From minute 6 of matchday 1 -CD Lugo- to minute 74 of matchday 6 -UD Las Palmas-). Goalkeepers: Munir (matchdays 1, 2, 3, 5 and 6) and Kieszek (matchday 4).
  • Second Division B: 874 minutes (From minute 24 of matchday 21 -Real Murcia- to minute 88 of matchday 30 -Yeclano CF-). Goalkeeper: Rafa.
  • Third Division: 899 minutes (From minute 66 of matchday 19 -PD Garrucha- to minute 55 of matchday 30 -Antequera CF-). Goalkeeper: Burgos.

(*) In the Third Division, Málaga CF defeated UD San Pedro by 0-1 on matchday 20 which was postponed at the time, and was played after Málaga CF’s match against Antequera CF